A Dose of Kyle

Writing by Kyle Freelander

Encore

I watch as he stretches the rubber band,

listening as it claps with his wrist

sounding like an encore

but begging for me to stop.

I can’t; I’ve already started

and I must go on

angering him,

alarming myself.

It smacks again,

more words pour out,

confessions I need to make:

I have to leave.

He rises from his chair,

a standing ovation

I was taught never to want.

I race to the door

but he won’t let me go,

slapping me into place,

enforcing his grip on me.

Years with him made me weak,

but I had finally grown strong

with the distinct desire to be free

from his binding rule.

A round of applause —

I try to run

—too late.

The rubber band snaps,

a wild animal set loose;

I’m the only prey in sight.

I fall to the floor,

too weak to get up,

too weak to leave.

I just lie there,

cold wood pressed against my skin,

staring at the green strand

that was once so innocent

upon his thick wrist.

Now it lies on the ground

abandoned,

left for broken,

with me.

By: Kyle Freelander

2 comments on “Encore

  1. Holistic Wayfarer
    August 21, 2013

    Woah. Serious stuff! Thanks for the follow, Kyle. I do appreciate the support. If you get a chance, you might chk out the writing series on (punctuated by posts on differing themes) – just scroll in reverse.

    but begging for me to stop.
    What if you blip the “for”?

    Like

  2. kylefreelander
    August 21, 2013

    What a great suggestion! Thank you for the feedback!
    And I will definitely check that out.
    =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

About this blog

Welcome! A Dose of Kyle is an ever-growing collection of fiction, poetry, nonfiction, random thoughts and musings from the mind of Kyle Freelander. Some of these posts are new works while some are older ones that have been spruced up for the occasion. Feel free to stay and read awhile. Remember, feedback is always appreciated! -Kyle

Get To Know Me! {Instagram}

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

