A Dose of Kyle

Writing by Kyle Freelander

What’s in a name? (Part 1)

[Or why I am named Kyle]

A lot of people ask me about why I am named Kyle, and my initial instinct is to say that my name is Kyle because my parents named me that. Then I usually turn the question back around on them so they know just how hard of a question it is to answer.

Of course, I do end up telling them why my parents decided to name their baby girl “Kyle,” although I don’t think it’s the exciting tale they were hoping for.

Most people guess that my name is Kyle because my parents thought they were having a boy and then just decided to go ahead with the name even though I was a girl. That is not the case. If I had been a boy, I actually would have been named Adam.

The real story is that my parents decided to name me Kyle because they heard about a woman named Kyle who loved her name. My parents thought it about it for a while, talked to some friends and coworkers, and found more and more females with the name Kyle who also loved their name. As a result, I was named Kyle.

Like I said, not so exciting.

To this day, I have only met two other females by that name so I do not put a whole lot of faith into this story that my parents told me, but when I looked up the meaning of my name online I did discover that there were a lot of baby girls named Kyle from 1978 to 1990.

However, there was no record as to when all these women went into hiding.

Of course, being a female named Kyle has led to a lot of confusion over the years. I have had people call me Kylie, Kyla, Keile, and various other names that they thought were more suitable for a girl than Kyle. Then there are the people who just pair my first and middle name together as if my first name was Kyle-Marie, or, on a more drastic note, people who just start calling me Marie and expect me to answer.

That does not work, by the way.

I get a lot of mail addressed to a “Mr. Kyle Freelander” and official phone calls asking to speak to the same non-existent man. Then there are the people who see my name on paper and expect a male in person, so I get a lot of comments on that as well.

Most of the time I find the errors people make when it comes to my name to be amusing but other times I wish people would stop acting like it was the end of the world for a girl to have what is typically considered to be a “boy name” (although I do not refer to it as such, for obvious reasons).

As far as meaning to my name, online sources tell me that Kyle is a Scottish name that means a strait of water, that Marie means bitter, and that my last name is evidently so uncommon that I cannot find any source that wanted to even touch on meaning for me. So, as far as Freelander goes, it likely has something to do with free land.

Yes, I am bitter strait of water that flows across free land.

Well, maybe.

The actual “meaning” to my name has never meant a whole lot to me because my parents didn’t look into meaning when they picked my name. They just thought Kyle would be a strong, unique name for a girl, and I agree.

When pronounced correctly, I love my name. When people mess it up or try to change it, I inadvertently cringe, correct them, and then I am usually required to go into some lengthy tale about how I got that name.

One of these days, I am just going to start making up crazy stories as to why my name is Kyle but for now people will have to be satisfied with the truth.

I am a female named Kyle.

Get over it.

Leave a Reply

About this blog

Welcome! A Dose of Kyle is an ever-growing collection of fiction, poetry, nonfiction, random thoughts and musings from the mind of Kyle Freelander. Some of these posts are new works while some are older ones that have been spruced up for the occasion. Feel free to stay and read awhile. Remember, feedback is always appreciated! -Kyle

Get To Know Me! {Instagram}

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

