A Dose of Kyle

Writing by Kyle Freelander

Our Demise

I don’t usually dedicate my poems, especially ones on my blog, but I am mixing it up this time. Someone who is very close to me is feeling some serious heartbreak right now, and I wrote this poem with her in mind. It has been a few months now, but the heartbreak is just as real as if it were yesterday. I want her to know that I feel that, and I want to help her through it.

As most people know, that is a hard task for anyone. So, I have taken to what I know best: writing. This is a poem about love just as much as it is a poem about loss, and I dedicate it to my beautiful friend. You are more than like a sister to me. ❤

” ‘Tis better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all.” -Alfred, Lord Tennyson

Our Demise

I.

His eyes are wide with smiles, and I wonder how I am so lucky.

 

II.

I ask him what he sees in me.

He simply replies, “What others do not.”

 

III.

It is late one night when I say, “You feel like home.”

 

IV.

He tells me that I am beautiful today

and kisses me on the forehead.

My skin enters into a waltz I cannot control

but have no desire to wish away.

 

V.

I tell him he is my future, and he replies, “I’m okay with that.”

 

VI.

He stares at me quietly

and I feel the minutes wind

around my lungs and loop

themselves into a tingling hello

that precedes the words, “I love you.”

My insides do somersaults for days.

 

VII.

Everything is perfect until it is not.

 

VIII.

I ask him to open up to me,

but he keeps me in the dark.

Once again I hold his hand,

but I know I don’t have his heart.

 

IX.

His fingertips pull away, and I beg for them to come back.

 

X.

I catch him in a lie again and he knows

to say, “I’m sorry,” but he says nothing more.

 

XI.

His eyes are wide with miles, and I wait for goodbye.

Leave a Reply

About this blog

Welcome! A Dose of Kyle is an ever-growing collection of fiction, poetry, nonfiction, random thoughts and musings from the mind of Kyle Freelander. Some of these posts are new works while some are older ones that have been spruced up for the occasion. Feel free to stay and read awhile. Remember, feedback is always appreciated! -Kyle

Get To Know Me! {Instagram}

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

